I Forge Iron

help identifying an anvil

First off - hello all. I'm new to blacksmithing, after taking a three-day training course with a local smith named Shawn Cunningham. I have an opportunity to buy an anvil locally, and I was supplied with the following photos (I have not been able to drive out and see it myself yet). I photoshopped the images to darken and 'relief' the lettering a little bit (that's why it's darker brown over the letters), but I still can't quite make out what it says. I can make out "___B INC OMAHA" (?) on the center, but not much else.

Any help would be much appreciated - I'm hoping to take a look at it on the weekend. Any comments on its suitability for general blacksmithing are welcome too - I'm definitely a greenhorn here :)

13846.attach

13847.attach

13848.attach

Edited by archimed

If they are giving it away, I'd take it, otherwise save your money, looks like the face has been plug welded back onto the base. Note the three "holes" and the line on the half of the face nearest the horn--not standard on many anvils I have seen!

Edited by keykeeper

The wording above the line with the "B" in it appears to be "solid wrought". If it is then the most likely the front of the face and the step were probably considered irrepairable and had to be replaced. It would certainly be a negotiating tool to get the price down. You'd have to make sure the repair is solidly attached.

Also, it looks like there is a number 169 underneath the "B" line. If that's the weight then consider $50 for the vise leaving $200 for the anvil. Not terribly high but certainly negotiable.

And it looks like there is a hardy cut-off in the hardy. Maybe you can get more hardy tools to go wth the anvil and vise.

Are there other anvils in your area to buy?

Edited by Iron Falcon 72
more words