I Forge Iron

Shop Pics / design advice

jw223

Hello to all! I'm going to put up a new shop now that the weather has finally broken, and I was wondering if anyone has posted pics of their shops. i am very new to this, so any help with a efficient floor plan would be nice. I know from my other interests that no shop is ever big enough, but i'm thinking 30' x 30'. Other than building costs, are there any advantages to rectangle instead of square? I'd like to use stone for the walls w/a metal roof. let me know your thoughts.
thanks- jw223

4? Not sure that will last long for a real shop. I did 6.5, with 4500 mix. Also used 5/8 rebar on 3 ft centers... welcome to the heart ache of a new shop :)

Dont ask us smiths about what is best in YOUR area, as soil varies. Ask construction people about what lasts, there WILL be major vibrations form power hammer, so a separate slab has advantages, and not much more $$ to get it right, also electrically bond the floor to the grounds.

Edited by steve sells

My shop's 30' x 40' and was getting cluttered before the roof was on. The slab is 6" with #5 rebar on 2' centers. There are 2" sq receiver tube sockets (gozintas) on a 4' grid and grounded. These are connected under the slab to an exhaust system for down draft fume and smoke exhaust. The area where the power hammer(s) go is 8" of concrete with #5 rebar 1' on center. There's also hydronic tubing in the floor for the day I get a boiler.

It has one overhead door and one man door, windows to come.

Power and light, you can't have too much of either.

Lift capacity is always a good thing.

An icebox and a couch for naps.

Frosty