I Forge Iron

1/4" x 1/4" Square Bar

I have had quite a few Smiths asking me if 1/4" x 1/4" square bar was available for the last few years. I recently found a source. What I would like to know is whether or not it's worth it.  I'm figuring it's kind of hard to come by. Please let me know so I can make an informed decission.

Thank you,

Aldo Bruno

New Jersey Steel Baron, LLC 

I have wanted a source for longer lengths of 1/4" square stock for a few projects.  I'm not a big producer of things, but I do get rather tired of squaring up round bar because I can never get the edges really sharp and uniform like the rolling mills do.  The keystock around there is pretty pricey and not always available, so I wouldn't mind knowing I could call up the NJ Steel Baron and get a few 6' lengths of square mild.

All metal in any size available on the face of the planet is right here locally at a steel supply super warehouse. They are all over Northern OHIO. I would have thought there would be something similar close to everyone.......no???

http://www.spartasteel.com/products-1/

People bring me spring steel because they think I can use that.....and I have a a ton (literally one ton worth) of old crow bars cuz school buses had to remove them. U bolts.....I can't count them all.............

I enjoy having older used stuff...but sure is nice to play about with clean/ new 1018 in any size imaginable.

I have two steel suppliers near by (for NM values of nearness)  One claims that 1/4" hot rolled doesn't exist but they can sell me cold rolled for about double what the other sells me hot rolled for---but they say they are currently out of stock and haven't been able to find any.

OTOH I can walk the piles of the scrapyard near my shop and they will even put things aside for my next visit.

• 2 weeks later...