I Forge Iron

Recommendations for an beginner's hammer(s) & tong(s)?

I'm just getting started-out. I have my anvil, and am building a stand for it. I am building my propane forge (almost done, just need to get the coatings in it and tune it/troubleshoot).

So, for someone just starting out, what's the recommendations beginning hammer and tongs? And any recommendations on where to buy them? I know I should eventually I should be able to make my own tongs, but I'm not there yet.

I was considering the cheaper house-brand hammers at Blacksmith's Depot, they sell a set as the "800 Swed and 1000 Czech". Is that because those are a good beginner's combo or just their two cheap hammers?

For tongs, from reading online and looking around, a pair of wolf-jaw tongs sounds very universal for starting-out. Thinking maybe 16" or 20" long pair

If it makes any difference, I hope to eventually make some knives. Given the size of my forge (freon tank) I won't be doing anything really large.

-B.

Barnaby:

Take a look around second hand shops, flea markets, garage and yard sales for hammers. To start you won't really need anything special, ball peins and cross peins are pretty common as are drilling hammers.

If I had to pick two styles from the hardware store it'd be a cross pein and a drilling hammer. This is a drilling hammer Amazon.com: Drilling Hammer, 2 Lb: Home Improvement and this is a cross pein.

I don't recommend a beginner use a hammer much heavier than 2lb till they develop good hammer technique and build up a little muscle.

However well you can do with whatever hammers you find, a hammer designed by a smith for smithing is another thing all together. So, go with the garage sale or closeout store hammers to get to forging and save up for one of Mr. Hofi's hammers.

Frosty