I Forge Iron

I hope this is in the right place, if it is not, Mods please have mercy. I am not trying to cause chaos with my posts.

I forged this hot cut hardy out of leaf spring, and while using it today, the cutting edge started chipping and then suddenly the shank and the rest of it cracked. Attached are pictures of the grain. I don't know if that was the problem, or if there could have been microfractures, or if the way that I got it to fit in the hardy hole (heating it up and hitting it hard) is what led to it's demise.

It was also interesting, the top kept deforming, even though I had quenched it in water, and then it cracked. It seemed like it was too soft, and then too hard. I am only a beginner, especially when it comes to heat treating.

unnamed.jpg

unnamed (1).jpg

unnamed (2).jpg

Next time do NOT quench it in water! That wasn't your problem though. I can't enlarge the pic of the shank break well enough to get a good look at the "grain" (crystal growth, the boundries are shiny so it looks like grains of something. Hense the  term) What I can see it looks okay, smooth and gray.

However the break itself is troubling, it has one final initiation point at the top left of the large fracture section. The rest of the shank is a bunch of fractures that didn't connect leaving the platform of the final break for last. 

Tells me two things, there were cold shuts in the shoulder between shank and blade. Two it wobbled in the hardy hole on the narrow axis. 

Make another hardy but don't draw it down like that, fold the shank section in half and forge weld the joint. AND without drawing it down except where it fits in the folded shank section. The shank folds together and over the blade section all of it gets welded together.

Normalize and sharpen it with an acute slightly convex bevel it'll be stronger, stay sharp longer and drive through cuts more easily.

It was a good first attempt Will. Better luck next time.

Frosty The Lucky.

Will,