I Forge Iron

Issue with marks in the blade

Greetings,

after a long time lurking on this forum, I finally decide to post, unfortunately because I have a problem.

I am trying to reproduce a dagger from a movie as a Christmas gift, and as I was grinding it, I discovered many, many marks on the blade. I managed to grind a lot of them while maintaining a homogeneous thickness, but there are parts where I just cannot get rid of them. I used a brush before and after working the hot blade, and always wiped the anvil to remove the scales, yet it is still badly damaged.

Is there any solutions to fix this issue ? Should I put it back in the forge to try to correct it, or is it irredeemable ?

I am a beginner ; I've built my first forge a year ago with bits and pieces, but barely had the time to work. Thanks to unemployment, I work at the forge nearly everyday since early September, but I am still learning on my own, though with all the resources on this forum and elsewhere. By the way, this is a good opportunity to thank you all deeply for all the knowledge here !

Thank you very much in advance for your insight !

20211122_110913.jpg

20211122_110924.jpg

20211122_110948.jpg

Screenshot_20210915-200347_Slow Motion FX.jpg

I looks like those are places where the steel was overheated (possibly in an oxidizing fire) and produced excess scale.  The way I see it you have 3 options: leave them there, continue to grind them out, or reheat the blade to a planishing heat and smooth them out with a hammer/flatter. I would probably pick the last option if it were me.

By the way, cool blade, what movie is it from? It looks sort of elvish to me.

Thank you for your answer. I indeed discovered only recently that I might have been inserting the steel too deep into the forge, though I never saw this blade melt. Perhaps it caused some damage nonetheless. I think I'll heat it back and try to do as you said.