I Forge Iron

Hi, new here

SHC

My name’s Walt, I go by SHC on a few forums, I’m only still active on a fishing forum. 

I’m new to blacksmithing. Already built a couple of simple tools, some tongs (ugly, flimsy, but functional) some knife blades, last night I made some bands to bind my anvil stand, it’s built out of a 4X6 timber cut into sections and currently held together with ratchet straps. Today I’ll drill and bolt those bands. 

Yesterday I cracked my anvil. Yes, cracked it. It’s a cheapo small cast iron anvil my wife picked out as a birthday gift just to get me started in this hobby. I was making a small hand trowel from a RR spike for digging around in water meter boxes (a semi regular task in my day job), and as I’m sure y’all know it’s hard to move metal on cast iron. So I was banging away at it and moving what I could before the steel cooled, missed my mark and heard a loud crack. After that, I might as well have been pounding on a dirt floor. 
Thankfully I have a piece of railroad track, so I can keep going. 

And that’s why I’m here. I’ve been looking at this forum from Google searches. I’ve already decided I love this hobby and would love to produce some work that can actually sell, but I won’t be quitting my day job of course. It offers health insurance!