I Forge Iron

my first real anvil

Soderfors are top drawer anvils. $1000 dollars for it as a good price, is depending upon where in the world you are located. I can think of a half dozen countries that use dollars for their currency. Another factor would depend upon if it passes the ring & rebound test to determine if it has lost it's hardness in a fire or not.

Unless it's been through a hot enough fire $1,000 is a darned good price for a cast Swedish steel anvil and Soderfors are as good as they get. I wouldn't even dicker and I always make a counter offer. Not for that beauty though it'd be in my pickup . . . now.

Oops, in my excitement I forgot to welcome you to the forum. Welcome aboard Mr. Anderson, glad to have you. 

Frosty The Lucky.

I'm in the us, I'm new to the craft and I've only done very small work on my grandpas old railroad track anvil that he passed down to me so I know this anvil is way above the needs of my proficiency but I'm hoping i can grow into it. thank you both, you've given me a lot more confidence and I appreciate your knowledge.

I see you added your location, given that like Frosty said the price is right and if I were you I would be all over it. Keep in mind with good anvils, they do not stay on the market very long. Like my grandpa always said, "if you snooze, you lose". With a 288 pound anvil, there isn't much you can't do with it.

Check out the anvil stand section of the forum, especially the "Show me your anvil stands" thread:

I am personally a big fan of the welded metal tripod, partially because of its weight and stability, but also because it helps reduce the ring of the anvil (especially when you put a layer of silicone caulk between the anvil and the stand). With a Soderfors, you're going to need all the ring-reduction you can get.

SWEET SCORE Mr. Anderson! Buy good hearing protection, plugs AND muffs aren't unreasonable using a Soderfors anvil.