I Forge Iron

Aspects of loud Anvils

ThomasPowers

We talk a lot about the downsides of using a loud ringing anvil; but there are some upsides as well.  I have found that it lures in folks at demos; and if I hear someone working at an anvil I'll go track them down to say Howdy.

I ran across this tidbit on a blog about Old Washington in Arkansas: "Her Grandpa was born in 1855 and was a blacksmith by trade in Stratton, Colorado. Her Dad said that when he was a boy, you could hear his anvil ringing all over town. When it quit ringing you better get home. It was time for supper."

In the shop though, ALL my anvils are muted, save for my Fisher.  It doesn't need it!

I has read in some of the "older" books (pre 1921) about not muting the anvil or securing it to a base so the vibrations would clear the scale off the top.

With all the older books I've read each author had their own unique opinion on the subject of anvil setup, some even saying all other ways are for lesser smiths or are flat out wrong.

Ah, the flowery pseudo legalese language of the late 19th and early 20th century. You should read the language of early patent descriptions. One of my blacksmithing books that was liberated from durance vile on my shelves contained a version of, "You'll find my method the superior" and or, "Other methods are for lesser smiths or establishments." 

Frosty The Lucky.

The blacksmithing Journals which were the internet forums of the day are full of "While XYZ's method, shown in last months issue, will work by making this simple tool you will find the task MUCH easier."  Sometimes it's possible to follow such chains a number of links down over time.   Frosty was that book "Practical Blacksmithing", Richardson?  It's a collection from a smithing Journal and has several similar things in it.  (As I recall the special tongs for repointing plowshares had several variations.)