I Forge Iron

Recommended portable stick welder

As the title says.

I’m new to the industry and want to go for my LA Cert along with my AWS Cert, and I wanted a little stick welder for under $250 that I can use for home projects. Railings, gates, building a gas forge and just more practice for welding tests. It needs to be 110v input since that is our house current, although I wouldn’t mind it being a 110v/220v fo a later dedicated circuit since I have the space for it. 
I don’t know much about electrical, so that being said is there a big difference between 110v and 120v. 

I would say Lincoln or Hobart inverter welder are the way to go, but there are heaps of reviews on other brands too. Search for reviews like "welding champs" or similar pages.

As for the voltage difference, to put it in simple terms, the higher the volts, the more power you can deliver. There is no practical difference between 110v and 120v, only a nominal difference. There is however a big difference between 110v and 220v as you probably know. 

Many of the Lincoln welders sold here, are multi input, meaning they take from 110v to 240v and also 50 or 60 hz. Check what is available in your area. What defines the welder is the Amp output. For small projects 180amp should be plenty.

One big difference you must keep in mind is the machine itself. Old buzz boxes are transformers you can have for $50 but they are not the easiest way to weld if you are not experienced. Modern machines have a bag of electronics, they are called inverters and achieve a much more steady output and make welding much easier. Many will also allow for stick, mig and tig welding from the same inverter.   Inverters used to be unreliable and the board would go up in smoke at the drop of a hat. Today reputable brands work much better and are more reliable. 

Let us know what you find. Best of luck :)

2nd everything Marc said.