I Forge Iron

Hello all. Just a brief introduction.

Firemedic

Hello. I’m new here and to blacksmithing. I’m a 20+ year career firefighter in Ohio. I’m getting close to retirement but nowhere near ready to slow down. I’ve always been a “tinkerer” and I love learning new skills. Blacksmithing seems to be an amazing new hobby/ addiction for me. I have taken some blacksmithing classes at a local living history site and fell in love with it. So now begins the search for tools and equipment. I have plans to build a small shop in the spring. I am a bit old fashioned in most things that I do so I expect that my smithy will follow suit. I have been spending hours upon hours on this site. The knowledge, information and experience compiled here is outstanding. Thank you to all of you. You will be hearing from me in the future. 

Did you get a chance to attend Quad-State, the largest annual Blacksmithing Conference in the USA, held in Troy Ohio each fall?  There are several active ABANA affiliates in Ohio, attending their meetings is usually the best way to meet other smiths local to yourself and find folks doing the stuff you want to do. (and where to buy things locally!)

By "Old Fashioned" do you mean pre 1900 or pre 1000?  Blacksmithing has over 3000 years of history so what is old fashioned to some folk may be "modern" to others.  (I consider anything after the introduction of the Bessemer/Kelly process to be modern for instance.)

I used to live in Columbus and had a drafty 100+ year old house so during the really cold winter days I built a "one soft firebrick forge" run off a cheap propane torch and forged small items in my basement. (Nails for my Mastermyr Chest, Viking era hack silver jewelry, small tools, etc).