I Forge Iron

Hello form Thomaston Georgia

Hello everyone,

Have been looking at the form for a longtime and after another botched forge weld I decided to joined today. I am new to blacksmithing, been at it for about 6 months now and am having a great time doing it, but can't seem to find anyone in my area that also smiths so I am looking forward to learning from the knowledgeable people on the site. 

How far is the Ocmulgee Blacksmith Guild from you?  When I lived in Ohio we got up a group to rideshare to the SOFA meetings 2 hours away.  Learning to forge weld is really really a whole lot easier if done 1:1!  (If you do go to one of their meetings, ask around if any experience smiths are located closer to you.  I remember one fellow complaining there was no smiths in his area until he visited an Affiliate meeting and found the President of the association lived 1/2 mile down the road from him...)

http://www.ocmulgeeblacksmithsguild.org/

20 hours ago, Glenn said:

What are you trying to forge weld, the type and shape of the metal. What have you been doing so far in order to make the forge weld? Type of forge? 

Gleen it is mild steel started 1/2 thick making an ax and putting a bit into it but can't get get mild to weld. I started but grinding everything nice and clean got it red hot brushed fluxed and put it back in until it was a bright orange took it out and gave it a few taps, brush flux and back in. I did this 3 more times and nothing so stopped opened it back up and am going to grind it clean again. 

17 hours ago, ThomasPowers said:

How far is the Ocmulgee Blacksmith Guild from you?  http://www.ocmulgeeblacksmithsguild.org/

Thomas, I just checked looks to be about an hour away. I am going to send them a message on their FB and see when would be a good time to go check it out and talk to some people. 

21 hours ago, JHCC said: