I Forge Iron

J.A.B.O.D.- D.U (Pic heavy)

Hi everyone,

I joined recently, originally looking for info on gas burners and having stumbled across Frosty's T burner in a google search.

Wow, what a eye-opening click that was. I posted in the introduction section today about how awesome I have already found this forum to be and promised I'd post some pictures of my J.A.B.O.D.D.U. (Just a box of dirt Down Under!)

I started with a dodgy bottom blast made from half of an old gas bottle

1224703989_gasbottleforge.thumb.jpg.dc2f8db733c0ab2abb9c3e18e0593eba.jpg

But a little reading on here made me think this was not a great design (I may re-purpose the outer bottle section as a fire pot for something bigger in the future) so I started my JABODDU. It's cut up pallet timber and the legs are 4 pieces of packing timber from a delivery to the school where I work as a Design Technology teacher. Here it is half filled. The tuyere is 22mm ID (7/8") held in place by the holes in two half bricks. I drilled the hole in the box frame slightly higher than the holes in the bricks which gives the tuyere a slight down-angle. It is galvanised but I stood 3" of the hot end in vinegar (it was as deep as I could cover. I hope it's enough!) overnight and scrubbed it off. What you can't see is that I put 10-15mm (about 1/2") of dirt in, then put a square of fibre cement sheet that I had from an old project in then added another 10-15mm of dirt before the bottom of the fire bowl/trench, which I moulded around a brick. The tuyere comes in about 25mm (1") above the bottom of the trench. (You can also see my little Record Anvil in the corner of the pic)

885478072_halffilled.thumb.jpg.2f89e8ad4a27102898341ceafdfb4f41.jpg

And here was the first lighting. (I did add more charcoal once it was going!) Then I added a brick to bank against and had an extra one ready because I wasn't sure how I might want to configure things.

1856978562_firstlighting.thumb.jpg.370a73f19fd286e2437110c23b9d3896.jpg