I Forge Iron

Air Compressor Forge

Small Creek Custom

I am a newbie blacksmith and want to build my own propane forge. To do so I recently aquired a air compressor that is 16 inches wide and ablut 24 inches long. I want to insulate it with 2inch ceramic blanket, cover that with a half inch of refractory cemnt and line the bottom with fire bricks. The problem is I do not know if I will be able to reach forge welding temp with how bug of a space I will have? Any I deas on how I might redesign are much appreciated. 

Welcome to IFI... I always suggest reading this to get the best out of the forum. READ THIS FIRST

You will undoubtedly need at least two burners. Not knowing where in the world you are located or what type of work you are planning it's hard to give you an answer. For ideas on how to redesign it you need to read through the Forges 101 sticky.

If you are planning to pattern-weld for smaller projects (like blades), I would take 4 inches off the bottom side of the tank and weld a flat piece there. Then you would have a nice flat surface to facilitate a floor without using fire bricks, and you would decrease the internal volume. This may prove more efficient during heating. You could use the extra blanket to decrease the width of the internal volume too. A 16 inch diameter tank is pretty big, but then I do bladed things, so you may need bigger.

Also, read the consolidated notes for beginner forge builders (sticky). In my opinion, that's a really great place to wet your feet.

Yes, No, Maybe depending on information you have not provided: Like size of burners, number of burners, type of fire brick, etc.

They reach forge welding temperatures in forges big enough to fit a rail car into; it's how big/how many burners you have and how much money you are willing to spend in fuel to run it at forge welding temps.