I Forge Iron

garden fence

Hello all, newbie here,

Could someone suggest where to look or a book to use in making a small garden gate/fence. Basically, I'd like to learn how they where done before welders where around. I can't figure out how the vertical rails where fastened to the horizontal ones. Trying to learn how things where done old school.

Mike

Since welding started with the smelting and working of iron you will need to look into wooden fences and gates to be predating welding.

Mortise and tenon, riveting, twisting, collaring, heat shrinking, lots of ways of fastening stuff together without welding it.

However the COSIRA books (available in pdf form free online) covers a lot of this.  In particular may I commend to your attention: "Decorative Ironwork"  which has 7 designs for grillwork/gates with step by step instructions on how to make them.

Note that since we don't know which of the 100+ countries that participate on this World Wide Web forum you are in we can't advise you on design restrictions to meat local building codes.

Awesome you guys! ThomasPowers, I will get those files for sure. I guess I should look more into the European blacksmithing history more, since there's more history there. But I know that there must be others in the states that like to do reproductive works. And yes, thank you Irondragon, I will update my profile. I'm such a noob, lol.

The Cosira books are I believe not currently available on line, the website I am informed is being overhauled, and they should be returning, but when that will be I have no idea.

These are some notes from an intensive basic Blacksmithing course I host. They are intended as a reminder of what can be used in various projects and situations that have been dicussed in class.

Joining methods used in metalworking

Welding;                Forge welding, oxy acetylene, arc, Mig, Tig, spot

Riveting;   Round or square shank, different heads and riveting allowances for different types of head