I Forge Iron

Chainsaw chain etching

Robg

Hey guys! I finally successfully forge welded some billets. Chainsaw chain and bandsaw mixed with circular saw blades. I'm just wondering why the chainsaw chain came out a muddy mess. No distinct pattern. The blades had some pattern but really light patterning. How do you get the really nice dark etch? Both were soaked about 20 minutes. This is my first time etching so I'm sure it's probably operator error too lol. I did not harden either one of these or take them to a mirror finish either. I just wanted to take a peek lol. Thanks

20190124_111356.jpg

I think it would've come out nicer with a longer soak in weaker solution. That billet looks like it has cracks if so it might be the perfect one to cut into test coupons and etch a number in different etchants to find which works best on THAT billet.

Frosty The Lucky.

Yes it's definitely a test piece frosty. I think it's the edges of my flatter because I just recently figured out to round the edges of the flatter. This is my first weld and etching so kind of happy with the results even though it's horrible lol. I'll figure it out. Thanks

11 hours ago, Robg said:

I'm just wondering why the chainsaw chain came out a muddy mess. No distinct pattern. The blades had some pattern but really light patterning. How do you get the really nice dark etch? Both were soaked about 20 minutes. This is my first time etching so I'm sure it's probably operator error too lol. I did not harden either one of these or take them to a mirror finish either. I just wanted to take a peek lol. Thanks

I'm not sure what you mean by 'muddy mess', but if you're referring to the fact that it doesn't look like a chainsaw, that's due to the all the squishing around from forging.