I Forge Iron

Hey guys I've been reading the forum as a guest for a while and decided to finally join. I'm pretty new to smithing, I've done a fair bit of research but I have maybe 10 hours of actual smithing time under my belt. My current setup consists of a cast iron bowl filled with clay soil and a shop vac for air, a small harbor freight anvil on a stump, a cross peen hammer, a ball peen hammer, and some channel locks for tongs. I have a ton of scrap metal to play with. I have been using charcoal but I just got some coal locally I've gotten to fire up recently. 

The recent coal firing has tought me I need a better forge so I think I'm going to build a better(hopefully) jabod soon that won't self destruct in one firing. 

Here's a few pictures of my setup by the way

20180425_194736.jpg

20180423_135444.jpg

20180423_135439.jpg

20180423_132823.jpg

20180423_132818.jpg

That would be awesome! I'm definitely wanting to join saltfork the discount on coal alone would be great plus the meetups would be neat. What would a youngin like myself bribe you with lol I'm a hard worker if you have any work needing done.

By the way it was your post that got me started finally. I didn't think I could until I saw how simple your jabod forge was. I didn't realize you were a fellow Okie. 

If you hang a right at dibble and a left at Lindsay you will, if you don’t blink find Bradley. 

Wont take much, be safe, have fun and pass on what you learn. 

I think we need to consider some kind of over head cover or a mobile forge. A ground forge isn’t horrible if you dig about a 16”-24” hole (steps and a but board work real well) to stand in or set with your legs in the hole, but tend to become garden pounds in Oklahoma this time of year. Not being used to squatting it’s much more confortable. But if you open up your mind lots of things become potential forges.