I Forge Iron

Newb, fresh built forge, critiques please

SeniorNugg3t

I have zero experience with forging/blacksmithing. Looking to expand my abilities and learn from all of you.

I built this forge last weekend. I didn't really have any idea what I was doing or follow any rules of thumb that I'm now learning about. Just kind of common sense approached it.

This is a small mailbox style forge. Single propane burner i bought off Ebay. The design is my own and probably not the best...

Well, here it is and now I'm trying to make it work right. Seems to be okay but I know there's things I'm going to need to do to really get it going.

I have it sitting on a home-brew cart for now made of scrap wood.

The floor and seams are covered with a 3000* refractory cement slurry.  I may coat the whole inside with refractory cement for efficiency.  I think to help with the burner depth, I'm going to build up the wall on the right where the burner comes in with the refractory cement and form a bit of a flare to it around the hole. Or, i could build a stand off on the outer frame mounting straps to recess the burner a bit and grind away some of the brick in the hole to make a flare shape.  I may go with the cement method as it will reduce volume, and probably improve efficiency as it should keep the bricks from absorbing as much heat, or maybe a combination of both cement and stand off.  Burner is pointing just left of center and my thoughts are the heat will hit the floor where the work will be placed, and bounce around circulating the heat, also alleviating much back pressure.  The back wall is movable to allow for exhaust and longer pieces to be passed through.

So I fired it up the first time the other night and there's a few things I want to discuss.

For sure I have to address the burner mounting.  It's too deep in the forge and the flare is getting hot. I don't have the burner tuned very well either but it surely pushes some heat lol!