I Forge Iron

First Attempt at metal removal making a knife

Bob123

I was looking at knives used by Indians for centuries and came across one called Ulu, made by Inuit Indians.  It looked interesting and i decided to make a version of one.  I think i bit off more than i could chew.  LOL  Anyway hear it is.  Blade is about 3.5 inches wide and 4.5 inches from top to bottom.  Blade is about 1/8 inch thick and has a one sided bevel.  Handle is Maple with copper wire for pins and a simple food grade butcher block oil for a finish, to make it food prep safe.  I am glad i only had one bevel to contend with as it almost kicked my butt.  But with many hours of hand work managed to get it sharp.  Not scary sharp but sharp enough that it cuts and chops vegies well.  Will work some more on the edge.  I welcome all comments good or bad as i am new at this hobby.  As a newbi (only one year at the hobby) and only 70 years young as of yesterday I need to start learning.  LOL  Here are two pics one of each side.

Picture 526.jpg

Picture 525.jpg

Nice first effort, particularly the curve of the Ulu edge and the matching bevel.  As this is your first project I hope you won't mind some, hopefully, constructive criticism:

1. The radius of curvature of the Ulu edge seems a bit small.  I expect you would get a more effective chopper (and easier project) if you made the radius significantly larger and the blade width shorter (unless it was designed to coordinate with a specific chopping bowl.
  2. The handle design does not seem very ergonomic to me.  I expect a long ~1" wide slot running the length set half way between the blade and outside edge of the handle might help, or just making the handle less wide in general.
  3. It appears that you made this knife exclusively with stock removal, but likely used some kind of belt grinder or sander.  What stock did you start with (circular saw blade?), and did you address heat treating the steel in any way?