I Forge Iron

Railroad spikes

Phat_kash

Hi, I am new to forging and I need some tips for forging railroad spikes. I have a couple that I would like to make into knives. Is a wood fueled forge hot enough for railroad spikes or do I need to use a propane fueled forge? Thank you!

You will be able to get up to a forging heat with a wood/ charcoal forge. It will get up to the same temperature as let's say a coal forge, but will just consume more fuel and technique is necessary for conserving fuel. 

Kaleb

A charcoal forge will get plenty hot to forge with if you have it set up correctly. ( burning wood for fuel, you are actually using the charcoal/ coals produced by the burning wood to forge with) 

There is a lot of information here for you to read through. Both on forges and rail spike knives. 

There are many, many threads on IFI that discuss different kinds of forges (solid fuel and gas), as well as the suitability (or lack thereof) of RR spikes for knives. Please take the time to read that material carefully; you will find either that most basic questions have been answered already (many, many times), or you will be in a much better position to ask informed questions that will not draw the wrath of the resident curmudgeons.

cue impending wrath!.......Charcoal has been used for smithing for over 3000 years; I do not believe it will suddenly stop. (now this is real "lump" charcoal and not briquettes.  Burning wood you are just converting it to charcoal and using that.  Much like coal turns to coke and it's the coke we forge with in a coal forge.)

Also you do know that RR spikes are NOT a good alloy for knives, right?  Shoot even a standard coil spring from an automobile has about *twice* the carbon content as a RR spike!

If you are near to either of my locations give a shout and I can help you get started.