I Forge Iron

Forge Build

Square Nail

After perusing this site night after night for weeks and trying to understand the basics of forge design, I am still as lost as I was when I started! So with this in mind I decided to build a forge and post the results, good and bad as the build progresses. I have decided to use Frosty's T burners and a modified Zoeller square tube forge.  Not being a very good welder, I have had a local shop weld the basics of the box together leaving some of the less important aspects of the forge to my own devices! 

Please feel free to comment on things you like or don't like or suggestions of different ideas.

I intend to document this build and post on here with enough pics to explain what I am talking about, showing my successes and failures. The first thing built were Frosty's T Burners. Using his instruction guide the process was fairly simple and straight forward. To elaborate a bit on some of his notes, the ridge on the center line of the T's can and will deflect a drill bit if you don't take extreme care to make sure the bit is centered. I found by filing a small flat spot before center punching for the hole makes it a little  easier to stay accurate. 

IMG_20170513_132732060.thumb.jpg.1718ac03fc9e492d0e71b16ac1baeddb.jpg

As you can see by this picture that all though the fitting is straight up and down it is still offset to the left. Had to redo

During this process and not wanting to spend a million dollars on a learning curve by buying all black pipe, I tried soaking galvanized fittings in vinegar to see if they were a viable option. The galvanized were $6.00 while the Black are $17.00. As you can see the T on the left is a Galvanized fitting soaked for 36 hours in vinegar with the black one on the right.

IMG_20170515_084953484.thumb.jpg.49677f28ca9e37051604c7ffd5cc7ab5.jpg