I Forge Iron

How do I remove fire scale

Blake Laperriere

I have no experience with this specific method, but I would guess that a nice long soak in some vinager would loosen it and revove it.

Littleblacksmith 

Thank you. I just wasn't wanting to say "this is the way, it WILL work" and end up ruining his work with my advice somehow.

Littleblacksmith 

Better to use a weak baking soda solution...some Windex is ammonia-free if that is what might be doing the neutralizing with Windex.  I use Windex on the windows ;)

Vinegar is great...kinda like aspirin...seems to be good for just about anything!

What style of rose?

What finish do you want for the finished project?

If your doing a Russian Rose, ie one piece wrapped rose. You can get all your prep work done, and then wirre brush it hard with a wire wheel on a bench grinder, and polish both sides.  Then you can take a torch and apply heat to the bends and wrap it up. Should get very little scaling, then you can wire brush the outside of the base.  If you leave it too open then the little bit of scaling will show inside the flower.

With a Composite Rose, ie one assembled out of several peices.  Some guys cold work all the pieces, and wire brush or sand the sheet first before they even start. If you do hot work the sheet pieces, you can shape them up 60-80% of the way, and then use the wire brush on a bench grinder for the outside, and you can get smaller wire brushes that can be chucked in a drill or a die grinder, and slick up inside the bell of the flower.  Then when you assemble the rose you, tenon/rivet, or solder or braze the components on to the stem.  After it is assembled you can close things up a bit more if your gentle and careful.