I Forge Iron

gas forge design

Ethan larson

I am looking to build my first propane forge. I am pretty sure I want to build propane over coal. If anyone has a better idea please tell me. I am looking for a forge design that I would be able to do forge welding in. I am pretty sure I am going to do a forced air burner. I know I need to have 2 inches of insowool or kaowool and itc100. Any ideas on how large I should make it, what shape i should make it, and any good burner designs?

what size forge do you need?

making tiny stuff or big stuff?

there are many experts here ( im no expert on gassers )

a big forge will use a lot more gas and will cost a lot more if you are only doing small stuff.

frosty or one of the others will probably be here soon with better questions and some help for you

which part of the world are you from as some help is location dependent ( it is no good telling you what you can buy in England if you are in Australia ( add your location to your profile will mean others dont have to ask, you can be as vague or specific as you want like continent / country / state etc ))

Once you have a good gas forge you will probably not use a coal forge.  Propane is readily available, relatively inexpensive, and consistent.

I believe the only reason to use ITC-100 is if you want to spend about $75.00 per pint rather than $15.00 a pint for Plistix or $20.00 per pint for Metrikote.

If you will cast about 1/2" thick with Kast-0-Lite over 1" of Inswool you will get a good, strong, efficient, long lasting forge.  Check out the attachments on the Forge Supplies page of www.WayneCoeArtistBlacksmith.com.

Let me know if I can help you.

Wayne

Welcome aboard Ethan glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the Iforge gang live within visiting distance.