I Forge Iron

breaker sizes

eseemann

On 6/9/2016 at 5:47 PM, Steve Sells said:

and as an Electrician I get that a lot also. usually the "You can reuse this wire I got, rather than charge me for new"   type people, who have never seen what happens when high voltage leaks  because of poor or damaged insulation....  it never ends well :(

Steve, 

2 (maybe dumb) questions, 

what is the highest amps you would install on a 120 outlet (with the right size wire)

What is the right size wire for the highest amp line run to a 120 outlet?

I am thinking about getting a 220 put in but my 2 welders are 120 but I only have a 15 amp breaker to the outlet. 

thanks  

Installed wire size  is used to match the rating of the device, Generally if you have a 15 amp ( || ) outlet use 15 ot 12 gage wire and 15 amp breaker,  If you have a 20 amp 120 outlet (  |- )  use 20 amp breaker with 12 or 10 gage wire.   A 30 amp recep (\ / )like for a AC requires a 30 amp breaker and 10 or 8 gage wire DEPENDING ON VOLTAGE DROP

I'm not a residential or comertial electrition like Steve, my background is in automotive. That said it has been my experiance that 110 welders with 15 amp plugs benefit from being used on the next higher circuit, as it is a larger wire size. Especially when one needs to use an extension cord. We acualy have a 30 amp circuit and a 30 amp extension cord wired to a 4 way 15 amp plugs mounted to the weld cart. One extension cord for welder and grinders and minimal voltage drop, and with a welder being used close to its max capacity 

Steve and Charles,