I Forge Iron

Tempering swords?

will52100

I've been bladesmithing for about 15 years now, and have been wanting to try a sword.  I've actually got a sort of Falchion forged and rough ground, but while I can harden it, I'm having trouble wrapping my head around tempering it.  Trouble is, my oven is only 24" deep, blade and tang is a bit longer than that.  

I've thought about heating a bar of steel in the gas forge and running the back of the blade over the sword and watching the temper colors, or even putting a steel pipe in the forge as an oven.  I've seen a pipe with oil heated and used for tempering on Man at arms, reforged, but not sure how high a temp the oil can stand, or what oil to use.

How do you sword makers do your heat treat?

Thanks

I will be hardening in the gas forge, it's 15" long and by working the blade back and forth I can get it to critical temp, have done so while normalizing it, then quench in a tube of oil.

I have a Paragon heat treat oven, but the internal capacity is only 24 inches.  If I was to get set up for doing swords I'd either get a larger Paragon or Even Heat for sword length blades or go with salt pots.

My grill is a Big Green Egg, it's only about 22" or so across the middle.  I might do the briquet style tempering with a trench in the ground and a large pipe over it, would have to watch the temperature, but it might be doable.

Geeze folks...is this too obvious?? Ok you have a gas furnace/forge..you know the excess flames that come out the front/back? Temper the blade in that..just move it back and forth until you get the colour you want..oil quench..clean off the oil when  at ambient, brighten the surface.. and use a red hot piece of iron/steel bar to draw back the areas you want softer by placing the bar on the area..watch the colour..they can come up quick..