I Forge Iron

Looking for a special alloy

Hi there,

First of all....I have no any experience in forging or in blacksmithing at all. 

I'm about to make a guitar and gonna need some help. I want it to be special so I would like to use special materials. Especially, for the frets. The frets are that metal parts on the guitar neck that looks like lines. 22 or 24 of them placed in specified distance to each other. I hope you know what I mean.

Anyway... I'm looking for some material which hard and durable and special.

I was thinking maybe white gold or platinum but I have no any clue about them. Can they take lots of abuse?

Or could you advise me any hard metal like stainless steel but a bit more valuable?

Kind regards

Zoltan

Depleted Uranium?  

Before choosing one as a fret material I would look into: Can you source it in an appropriate shape?  Can you work with it?  HOW DOES IT SOUND WHEN USED AS A FRET!!!

searching under jewelry metals I found a listing that states: (increasing number indicates increasing hardness, note does not deal with differing alloys within a "metal")

1. Platinum 4 – 4.5
  2. Titanium 6
  3. Hardened Steel 7 – 8
  4. Tungsten 7.5
  5. Tungsten Carbide 8.5 – 9

There is a reason most guitars have nickel-silver for frets. A real silver alloy with copper and rhodium would be special and might do the job but then you would have the hassle of fabricating custom shape.  Consider that the frets not heavy wear items.   You didn't say what style of guitar you are planning to build btw?

8 hours ago, Charlotte said:

There is a reason most guitars have nickel-silver for frets. A real silver alloy with copper and rhodium would be special and might do the job but then you would have the hassle of fabricating custom shape.  Consider that the frets not heavy wear items.   You didn't say what style of guitar you are planning to build btw?