I Forge Iron

New 90lb Armatage

Im new to the site & learning a ton...I w ent junkin yesterday and found this...90lb Armatage...I'm so pumed! $160.00

The guy also had a 300lb...er buried in the dirt / weeds he said no way...lol.

How'd I do? Now should I oil it down or what?

Thanks...Bruce

1445211144566-1215068036.jpg

How'd I do? Now should I oil it down or what?

Nice find, great price!

I'm just a newbie, but my Mousehole (I believe that's what you've got there. They say M&H Armitage Mouse Hole on the side) sits outside. I cover it with a tarp when I'm done. The rust goes away quickly with a little hammer work.

If you really love the shine, I've heard you can leave an oily rag on the face, but it's nothing more than cosmetic.

Again, I'm no expert, but my understanding is they're pretty good anvils.

The best anvils would be Hay Budden and Peter Wright and maybe Fisher? Mouse Hole is kind of the class right below that. Good but not the best.

These anvils have a wrought iron base with a forge welded steel plate.

In the end, an anvil is an anvil. Doesn't really matter too much. When you start getting to professional quality anvils, a beginner like you or I probably won't notice the difference between the different brands.

Edited by falsevacuum

Bhutton, get the book Mousehole Forge, by Richard Postman.  It's about 108 pages of fantastic reading regarding the old Mousehole Forge where the anvils were made, the local area and the history of the anvils up to the recent owners of the forge.  I have a HB anvil but I enjoyed reading every page of Postman's book.  My son gave it to me along with Postman's Anvils in America, also recommended reading.

Again, I'm no expert, but my understanding is they're pretty good anvils.

The best anvils would be Hay Budden and Peter Wright and maybe Fisher? Mouse Hole is kind of the class right below that. Good but not the best.

These anvils have a wrought iron base with a forge welded steel plate.