I Forge Iron

Best anvil for around $1200 or lower?

I've been scraping money together for a few months and I've decided to buy myself something really nice. I'm still searching for a halfway decent swage block with v-shaped grooves that doesn't cost an arm and a leg.

I'm looking at NIMBA anvils pretty long and hard, I used them for a few months and I was very impressed with them. They are however around $7-8/lbs, it's a little pricy but for 260lb's of love it might be worth it. However before blowing a grand and a quarter, I'd like a second opinion.

Is there something better than NIMBA?

You're not likely to find a pristine Soderfors that size for that little so I'd say that's about as good as you can expect. Nimba are top shelf anvils made in America from modern high quality steel and professionally heat treated. Pretty hard to beat.

Frosty The Lucky.

Is there some reason you need to buy a brand new anvil?  I had my Fisher anvil shipped from Massachusetts to South Carolina for only $200.   While it's not a pristine anvil, it's pretty darn close and I certainly haven't been hampered by the rough edges.  Total cost was still under $3/lb.

If I had $1200 to spend on an anvil, I could have one inside of a week just by browsing eBay and arranging shipping through u-ship.com or someplace similar.

As for the swage block, it would probably be easier to have one cut for you.  Finding an old one that's in good shape and has the cut-outs that you want.... it can take awhile!

There are lots of anvils for sale new but as Vaughn T said why buy a new one? 

Here are a few of the other new ones that are available besides Nimba anvils-

Refflinghaus - http://www.blksmth.com/Refflinghaus_Anvils.htm I beleive these are the best anvils currently being made.

Rhino anvils- http://www.incandescent-iron.com/rhan.html

Peddinghaus- http://www.blacksmithsdepot.com/peddinghaus-anvils.html also avaiable thru other dealers

Old world anvils http://www.oldworldanvils.com/anvils/