I Forge Iron

A Newbie needs some help!

evbob

Ok, I just started black smithing today and ran into a bit of a problem. I got the forge and it works great, its a cast iron bowl with a hand crank blower. I lit the fire and threw in a piece of metal, at first I used a little charcoal but that didn't seem to get it hot enough, so I add a lot more and this worked. The problem is i burned through a 14$ bag in 3 hours and just flattened a piece of metal. Sense i am new to this i am not sure if this is normal, I need help why am i burning through so much charcoal!

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Add your location to your profile and there may be someone close to help you get started.

Charcoal is light in weight and does burn rather fast. It is not the dollar value of a bag of charcoal but the weight of the bag that is important. For instance $14 a pound is rather expensive, but $14 a ton is rather cheap.

To directly answer your question, you are burning charcoal to get the heat. The more heat you need the more charcoal you will burn. It is the same with any other fuel. You must have a certain amount of heat in the fire to get the metal up to forging temperature. Fuel does not make the fire hot, air makes the fire hot. You must have enough fuel (and then some) to produce the heat you need. Usually you want a fire ball about the size of a melon with fuel on the sides and top to replace what is being burned.

Look for some bituminous coal by contacting other blacksmiths or farriers in your area.

Posting photos of your set up will help us see what you are working with and we can provide better answers to your questions.

Edited by Glenn

Welcome aboard Bob, glad to have you. If you pout your general location in the header and you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.