I Forge Iron

Problem with large lap welds

I've started to make axes and hatchets the traditional way instead of cheating and just punching a thick bar. The problem I've having is that one side of the wrought iron will weld perfectly to the steel bit (5160) while the other side won't stick unless I give it a concerted effort. It takes me around 4 or 5 heats to get both sides to weld together. I used borox and I flap wheeled everything down smooth.

Now, I'm not overly attached to using wrought iron and a slug of steel for a bit. Would leaf spring be easier to weld since both sides would have the same composition? I've mostly welded smaller things together (1/4"x1" flat bar, 1x4" square, etc) So I'm not too experienced.

http://imgur.com/qj2N3d2,XRWuUm1#0

axe head.jpg

Is the side not welding the one laid on the anvil when you first set the weld? When do you flux the join?

You might try a low alloy high carbon steel bit rather than 5160, the chrome in spring steel can cause problems with welds. Simple low alloy 1070 +/- welds more easily. Wrought may weld easily but you have to get it a LOT hotter than steel. The more carbon the lower the melting/welding temperature.

Frosty the Lucky.

Is the side not welding the one laid on the anvil when you first set the weld? When do you flux the join?

​It was the bottom side, My forge is on the smallish side so I was only able to heat one side of the bit at a time, I flipped and heated the other side though. I bit use flux around the bit, the rest of the weld didn't need it though. I made sure to make the sides touch before I exposed them to a welding heat.

Maybe a small amount of scale was preventing it from welding? After a few failed attempts I did get a little frustrated and used a larger amount of flux and a bit more force than was probably needed.