I Forge Iron

What Hammer is this?

Mende

When I was starting out and gathering tools ( I'm still very much at the beginning but when I was REALLY starting out) I bought this hammer from a guy who told me it was a blacksmith's tool ...

He sold it to me for less than 2 bucks and said it's used to cut iron. . .and as I was a Newbie. . I thought it might be useful.

It has 2 semi sharp peens. .one straight, one cross. .. .no face. .

I found similar tools listed as Opposite hammers .. but it didn't say what they were for.
I don't have a pic. . but here's a diagram I made in MSpaint. So what should I use it for?

4197.attach

I can't see the image, it keeps saying an error message. I probably can't help you with what it is, but I would like to see the diagram. Will look up a mason's hammer.

its like a regular cross peen hammer .. but instead of a striking face . it has a straight peen .. and i know how masonry hammers look like . .i have like 3-4 ..i use them for fullering and hotcutting ...this is not a regular hammer. .

Photo is now attached to the post for all to view. This is one reason we request that you use the attachment feature of the forum.

First post the image to the IForgeIron Gallery. The gallery will automatically resize the image to the format that best fits in the forum. When you make a post to the forum, copy the URL under the photo and place it directly in the forum. It is that simple.

As a matter of fact, Thomas Dean is correct with his first statement. it is a chipping hammer. I know this because a good friend of mine has one and I didn't know what it was at first either. The "straight peen" side is for chipping slag from vertically welded joints, and the "cross peen" side is for the horizontal weld joints. It's a neat little tool. :)