I Forge Iron

mokume gane

Rravan

hi guys i was makind a knife the other day and was in the middle of desining the handle for it and thought it would look realy good with a mokume gane gard on it. only problem is i know next to nothing on the subject and was hoping you guys could help.
eg can i just forge weld it to gether?
do i need a flux?
ect. any light sheed on this would be well recived

I have no experience making it, so take these links with a grain of salt peter. Came across them while looking myself.

Mokume-Gane Metal Techniques with James Binnion
J. Arthur Loose: Handmade Damascus Blades, Rings & Jewelry (Under Studio, Making Mokume)
Making Mokume (This is making Mokume from quarters, many sites, and posts in various forums cover this, it's a popular technique)
Ariel Salaverria Custom Knives - Damascus Custom Knives - Tutorials (An Argentine maker, who frequents many of the forums and posts alot of tutorials for his techniques, which tend to have a very 'Ariel' look to them. Probably does the most detailed photo tutorials out of anyone on knifemaking forums)

Hope that helps -MJ

And only bothered to check the obvious afterwards. Theres a blueprint on the subject,

http://www.iforgeiron.com/blueprints-000-100/bp0064-mokume-gane.html

• 4 weeks later...
  • 7 years later...

What metals are you using? 

In general- no flux, it will just get in the way and will not protect soon enough or dissolve any firescale off copper.

The real secrets are all metal must be very clean and protected from the air. 

Leave not even a fingerprint. clean and use degreaser like alcohol. The main enemy here is air, so no gaps! Clamp it all tight, heat till it starts to sweat but not melt.weld it gently at first. Remember you are dealing with a huge pile of forge welds here so no rough housing until you are sure about it.