I Forge Iron

Nordic Forge Rounding Hammers

alwe1

I have been looking for a reasonably priced rounding hammer, I am new to blacksmithing and can't yet justify spending hundreds of dollars on a hammer, and I ran across Nordic Forge hammers.  They seem to be of decent quality from what I can tell and after contacting them they have told me they think it will work for my applications.  

They have a website that is only semi functional but they were very prompt in answering my email and questions about their hammers. There are two models one is hand turned and finished the other is heat treated then machine turned and finished, each come in sizes ranging from 1.5lb up to 2lb.  I was just wondering if anyone has any experience with these hammers and can give me an honest review on how well suited they are for blacksmithing and how decent the quality of these hammers is.  

https://www.google.com/search?q=nordic+forge+hammer&safe=off&rlz=2C1MSIM_enUS0537US0537&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=3e01U4u2MsPEyQHl-oBg&ved=0CAgQ_AUoAQ&biw=1600&bih=799#imgdii=_

The above is a link to pictures of these rounding hammers.

I have a 2 lb NF rounding hammer that I got in trade for a boilermakers hammer.

Not bad, not great, I got some chipping from the edges on the flat face after I'd dressed it a bit. The shape is pretty much the bare minimum of what you need in a rounding hammer. Certainly good enough to get used to working with a rounding hammer.

Personally, I've found that 2 lbs is just a little light for significant forging.  Found an older rounding hammer in horse county up in Napa at a flea market, a little under 3 lbs, more prominent shape compared the NF, and that really moves metal.