I Forge Iron

Why weld on reins?

brianbrazealblacksmith

• Replies 132
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted · Hidden March 27, 2014 - Irrelevant as he asks same question after G Boggs
Hidden March 27, 2014 - Irrelevant as he asks same question after G Boggs

I was hoping someone that teaches this might chime in and give the reasoning behind it. I never did it until at a conference where someone was teaching it in a workshop. I had been forging for over 20 years at that point, and I still drew the bar out so it was lighter and had more spring in it.

I was hoping someone that teaches this method would chime in and give the reasoning behind it. I had been smithing for about 20 years before I heard of modern smiths welding on reins, and I participated in a workshop where they were doing this. I would not do it again though because I like my reins to be lighter and have more spring. I'd still draw the reins out to achieve that, and it's much easier to draw a small section of 3/4" than an equal volume of 3/8".

I think they did it in the past to conserve on their better quality steels, but I'm just guessing.

I have done it in the past (forge welded)  when I needed reins that were 3-4' long.  I needed to use 1" to get the mass for the hinge and bits but drawing out 3-4' without a big hammer took too long.    Even with a big hammer drawing out 3-4' straight and round can be a pain to do. 

I do have a pair of tongs from a drop forge shop where the reins are a medium carbon steel for the spring but the bits are mild so they will not harden if cooled in water from a red heat.

Nothing to say you cannot taper reins that are welded on. 

This is something I'm trying work trough now, I have only made about 12 tongs (that survived) so still a steep learning curve for me. So far I have drawn all of them out, but have been tempted to weld on the reins for some for comparrison.