I Forge Iron

3D printed and cast bronze guard and pommel

TheoRockNazz

So my day job is as a 3D computer animation artist, and at one of the places I freelance they had 3D printed several 3D models I created in Maya. It turned out so amazing I talked a customer into letting me print his commission's guard through Shapeways.

https://www.shapeways.com/materials/steel?li=nav

Read this link - it's astonishing that they can cast a 3D printed mold in brass, bronze, "steel", precious metals, and ABS plastic.

The neatest part for me is the cavity in the pommel; no previous milling / fabrication technique could so this (that I know of).

Pricing was cheaper than expected, about $240 total. Anyone can 3D model, I feel it can be easier than drawing at times. There are a ton of free modelling programs, I highly recommend playing around with one if anyone has free time.

It's going on this three-sided dagger he commissioned, hence the square slot. I had left extra material on the tang just in case the scale was skewed (which it wasn't was sized perfectly), so it doesn't fit snugly yet.

I think this is flat-out cool. I've been offering it as an option to all my potential customers. One thing I want to note is that it has a minuscule "woodgrain" from the printing technique... I'm pretty neutral on it because it offers a somewhat weathered look.

post-25471-0-67518700-1394755960_thumb.j

post-25471-0-79702000-1394755963_thumb.j

post-25471-0-29676800-1394755968_thumb.j

post-25471-0-24613600-1394755972_thumb.j

post-25471-0-21106100-1394755976_thumb.j

post-25471-0-93259100-1394755981_thumb.j

post-25471-0-06690300-1394755987_thumb.j

post-25471-0-00128800-1394755993_thumb.j

post-25471-0-84261200-1394755998_thumb.j

post-25471-0-99452500-1394756002_thumb.j