I Forge Iron

Hello from Europe

Davor

From Croatia to be exact. My name is Davor and I am new to this blacksmithing stuff, I found this forum to be very helpful so I presume the only course of action is to join this fine community.

I have made a few knifes, but only a small number by hammering down and that was very crude and needed a lot of grinding. But now I’m more interested in the other aspects of blacksmithing. The only problem I have (besides the lack of knowledge and skill LOL) is that I can’t have a stationary forge so I have made a small mobile one. Anvil from a railroad track and a forge from some sort of a water container (a hidropak). The air suplly is from a compressor. I have made some crude tongs and hooks and a proper forged blade.

post-47169-0-28847600-1381906409_thumb.j

post-47169-0-15718900-1381906412_thumb.j

post-47169-0-35769200-1381906415_thumb.j

post-47169-0-63368000-1381906418_thumb.j

post-47169-0-83848600-1381906421_thumb.j

post-47169-0-30674100-1381906428_thumb.j

post-47169-0-19882600-1381906434_thumb.j

post-47169-0-81079800-1381906436_thumb.j

post-47169-0-19907900-1381906440_thumb.j

post-47169-0-60420000-1381906443_thumb.j

Greetings and Welcome Davor,

The start of a fun journey is sometimes the hardest part...  I looks like you have all the basics to make yourself a coal forge and the tools you will need in the  future...  The only difference between a master and a newbie is time and education..  I have been at it for close to 40 years and I am still a student..  I wish you well.

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim

you have done well, I am no expert and could probably make the same but not much better and that would take time.

your forge looks good and seems to work well.

there is plenty of help available here if you look for it and if you cant find it just ask.