I Forge Iron

Harbor Freight Anvil

Hello All, 

I am a beginner blacksmith, just got my forge yesterday. I was wondering what to use as a anvil, Since I am a jobless High School student i dont have enough money for a nice anvil. I saw this anvil at harbor freight, Opinions?  Any ideas on what else i could consider for an anvil?

http://www.harborfreight.com/55-lb-rugged-cast-iron-anvil-69161.html

Thanks!

-Skylar 

I believe you will be very disappointed in that anvil.  Cast iron is not good for rebounding the force of your hammer back up into what you are working on.  It will require a lot more effort to do the same amount of work on what you are forging.  Also, cast iron is relatively soft and will probably get marked up quickly.

Pretty much any type of steel should work to get you started.  If you have access to a small ball bearing, you can test pieces of metal to see how much rebound you get.  The more rebound, the better.

Cast iron's bad news. That's a genuine ASO, or anvil shaped object.

Other item's? A real anvil for preference. Going cheaper, A large block of decent steel from the scrapyard, at scrap prices. A piece of railroad track, less great, but works. A big rock if nothing else. Look around the forums, lots of good ideas. Something to use as a flat table's good. Horn is useful, but not required.

There are plenty of posts concerning "improvised" anvils, knife makes anvils ant "y1k" anvils. But let me see what I can do to guid you to a usable piece of steel.
A 20# slege hammer head will work, mount it with one face up, any peice of 2+ inch peice of solid stock, 4x4 being my preference set on end. Heavy gage rail works, again set it on end. Large forklift tines. There is a member with rock crusher parts I think you get the idea. Things I'd avoid, I beam, steel plate (unless its 2+ inch thick then set it on end) cast iron anything.