I Forge Iron

blade forging

T.J.watts

i am very new to forging and im having nothing but problems with shaping the edge on my blades. i start out with the stock, shape the profile and try to shape the edge by hammering near the edge of the anvil with the blade lifted at a slight angle. am i doing this right and just not being patient enough or should i try a different method.

Have you been through the bladesmithing 101 section.  Also a lot can be said about the shape of your hammers face.  Mine are resurfaced to be rectagular.  That pushes the material mainly in 4 directions as opposed to a round hammer that pushes in all directions.  Get some mild steel and practice on it as it is easier to work and it won't hurt your feelings to ruin it.  Back to the 101, read through it!  Happy forging!

Bladesmithing is considered to be one of the highest level sections of blacksmithing.  It really really helps to learn hammer control, temperature control and how to move steel by forging *before* you deal with needing to do all of that very well indeed!

Or to rephrase your question:  "I'n new to driving a car and I'm having trouble winning Formula 1 Races---what am I needing?"

Yep, get a length of mild steel, or suitable scrap, and make a pile of knife shaped objects,AKA letter openers......Don't waste your good material making scrap. Slow down, and concentrate on what the material does with each hammer blow. Learn about tapering, and counter bending the blade so that it comes out as the desired shape, and not all curved the wrong way. It is gonna take quite a bit of hammering to get it down pat.

OK, don't leave it in the fire too long.  Good, problem solved :lol: .  Ya gotta pay attention.  I find that my students often leave the piece way longer than I would.  That is a matter of seat time, you've got to develop a feel for it.