I Forge Iron

Bending thick sheet metal into a cylinder

Harris Snyder

Hello guys. As a moderately junior blacksmith (and a welder of only 3 days), I have a lot of experience with rebar and scrap steel, and not a lot of experience with stainless sheet metal. I need to bend stainless sheet into a cylinder about 10 inches diameter and about 22 inches high. I'd like to use the thickest stuff that I can (I'm making a furnace shell / refractory casting formers). Any tricks of the trade? Is it possible I could bend something between 1/16 and 1/8 in thickness? I have nothing in the way of hydraulic tools, etc, so I think it's unlikely (maybe 1/16 is doable).

My current thinking is to roll it around a set of wooden disks which have been cut to the right size - lay them on the inside at regular intervals and roll away with some help and brute force... But that doesn't sound all the promising. It needs to support some weight - I suppose that I could use thinner steel and then weld bars around it's exterior for strength. Any ideas?

Thanks a lot guys.

EDIT: forgot to mention i'll be using 304 stainless.

Cheap light duty slip rollers are available for thinner metals but for thin plate, such as you are wanting rolled, a fairly industrial model is required.  Unless you have MANY to do it would be much cheaper to locate a shop that already has one.  Several members here have made their own slip rollers but that is also a fair sized project for one that will do what you wish.  Another option would be to source tubing or pipe of the needed dimensions.  This could be feasible to do from scrap or really simple if sourced from new stock.  I do think bending this by hand forming methods would be a poor use of your time!