I Forge Iron

Welding 1" steel

I'm fairly new to blacksmithing and an absolute beginner when it comes to oxy-acetylene welding. I've made some hardie tools and stakes for metalworking. I want to weld them to shanks made of 1" square steel. I have number 2, number 5 and number 7 welding tips. If I'm reading tip charts correctly, I'll need a number 15 tip to join pieces of 1" steel. Can this be right?

I would really consider a different means, such as forging the shank before making the tool, or making a somewhat close fit and brazing. A hardy will likely be plenty strong with a brazed shank, but you will have to do any heat treat prior to brazing, and cool the treated area to prevent the temper from being completely drawn. Heat treating after brazing will melt the brass out. (although heat treating a hot work tool provides limited benefit)

There are advantages to being good at welding with OA, so don't let me discourage you.

Phil

If "I'm fairly new to blacksmithing and an absolute beginner when it comes to oxy-acetylene welding." then you will have difficulty making this weld. I suggest that you take the part to be welded to your local high school and get the kids in the metal shop to weld the part for you. Make sure you bevel the shanks so when you gind the welds down to fit your hardie hole you don't grind all the weld off.

that all depends on what steel one used, I do heat treat my H-13 hot cuts.

Absolutely correct. How about I revise my statement that simple steels like 10xx, leaf or coil spring, 5160, 4140, in other words common scrap stream materials, will benefit only slightly from heat treating when used for hot work, because the temper will be deeply drawn.

Phi

Absolutely correct. How about I revise my statement that simple steels like 10xx, leaf or coil spring, 5160, 4140, in other words common scrap stream materials, will benefit only slightly from heat treating when used for hot work, because the temper will be deeply drawn.

Phi