I Forge Iron

Reconditioning my Peter Wright Anvil

Hey All,

First time poster here, and never swung a hammer at a hot peace of metal in my life (well, not true, I've done general jobsite torchwork including heating things up and beating the hell out of em for some reason or another, but nothing which could be called blacksmithing). But, I've been reading about smithing off and on for years now, am a welder, woodworker, (and these days a rigger by trade). I've been keeping my eye out halfheartedly for an anvil for quite a while now, and last week I went to the girlfriends stepfathers ranch for the first time. I asked him if he saw many anvils in his travels around various ranches, and he said he had a spare 'dead' anvil I could have. I nabbed it, and it turns out it's a Peter Wright, 146 pound anvil, that is not dead - rings like a bell if you set it on a block of wood and tap it. But, it's certainly been used and abused. A lot of the edges are crowned over, and the face has some big dents in it. It has a little sway, but not too bad (I don't think anyway, but I also don't know what I'm talking about).

My question is, what should I do to bring this back to working condition? Pictures can be seen here:

http://imgur.com/a/7BNh2

I've been reading, and some suggest grinding, belt sanding, welding, etc. etc. etc. My best guess is to grind some, but as little as possible (and I'm a surgeon with an angle grinder - got way too much practice with those guys), and then belt sand, to flatten the face (dent wise, not try to take every bit of sway out of it). And, to grind the edges - round over as little as possible, but as much as it takes to get rid of the crowning/chipping. Thoughts? I've read of some people welding in the chipped edges - not ideal, but better than fully trashed edges. I'm thinking I can get away with little or no welding though.

Thanks in advance,

Spruce