I Forge Iron

Looking for a torch - question on quality

robodog

I'm in the market for a new (or used) torch with cutter head and ideally a rosebud tip too. I've been monitoring ebay and there seems to be two levels of quality - Victor and "Victory style". The Victors usually go for $300-$400 including gauges; the others are half the price.

I see a couple Victor setups on Amazon for $260-$270.

I don't want to waste my money on some cheapo junk that's going to fall apart. Nor do I want to waste my money on something that is built for professional use. I'm an amateur hobbyist.

Advice? Are there some good non-Victor makes out there? Harris? Smith?

ESAB/Purox, Harris, and Smith are all good professional names, available in light, medium, and heavy duty models, and can be professionally rebuilt. Not so with knock-offs, when they fail, they die.

Victor 'style' and Airco 'style' torch parts are fully interchangeable within that style, but not across the aisle. Hoses, regulators, etc are mix and match, fully compatible and interchangeable.

Talk to your local welding supply and ask if there is a most common brand in use in your area. More customers = more parts in stock. If you commonly buy from them, they will not steer you wrong.

If you use propane you will need the correct tips and HOSE. the type "T" hose is for propane. It's cheaper but harder to braze and weld with. A rosebud will suck the bottom out of a customer size bottle so be aware of that. Victor is the top of the line---industry favorite--- but there are tons of Harris and Smith torches in use. These three would be my choice. Victor #1 and either the Harris or Smith. Check CL in your area and near you. I have found complete torch set WITH the bottles and cart for less than $200.00 and yes, they were Victor torches. Don't settle for cheap...only cost you $$$ and possibly more!

Like everyone else has already said all mentioned are profesional grade torche sets.