I Forge Iron

Is rebar worth messing with?

Since I am brand new to blacksmithing, I don't know much (but am learning). I have an opportunity to get a LOT of free rebar. My question is: is it worth messing with? I don't know if that is tempered steel....or carbon content is too high? I haven't even picked up a hammer yet; still trying to get all the necessary equipment together.

In my opinion free rebar is a good thing. I have had alot of fun with rebar. Just remember not to quench it if you can avoid it. If it has some harden steel in it you will have to hit it a little harder. When your starting, out any free steel is a good thing to have. ;)

Yes, it is absolutely worth messing with. You can make all sorts of tools out of it such as hold-downs and spring fullers (it is a little more springy than mild). I got some free rebar a while back and have used it for all sorts of stuff. I have even used it for edge and punching tools in a pinch and had no problems even though it really isn't great steel for that. Plus, as said before, its free!

If you get way too much give me a holler! I like it! I am in the Saint Louis area. Maybe we could trade something? Need any furniture? I have a whole barn full of furniture that I need to sell... big sale October 1st... horses want their barn back.

I'm looking for a 150# blacksmith anvil. If you have an extra one, maybe we can work out some kind of trade for some rebar. :) When I get all the rebar moved from my friends' property to my house, I'll then be able to see how much I have. If there's a whole lot, I'll definitely remember you.