I Forge Iron

hello all I am new and would like some advice please

Hello everyone, my name is Juris and I am quite new to all this and I basically only have a book and a farrier that I see once in a blue moon for advice, Today I attempted to do a forge weld and it failed miserably... I have an old stand alone open top forge with a handle cranked air supply, and I just built a small firebrick forge and am going to use two pipes down either side with holes drilled in them and attached to a dual squirrel cage blower, aimed at the base of the fire. And I am just using homemade charcoal for my fuel source.. I'm 19 and I don't have a lot of money ha
for the weld I tried to put two old screwdriver bits together and basically all it did was put a deep indent on one and a shallow indent on the other..

what should I look for when I "know" it is ready to forge weld, also for the weld is it totally necessary to use a flux like the borax or does that just make it that much better?
air supply- do I need a ton of air or will for example a hair dryer get me up to the temps needed for the welding? My book says that the metal will look "drippy" or like "waxy" when the metal is ready to be welded, as for my air supply do you think the two pipes of black 1/2" black iron pipe, with hole drilled down the length do the trick?

Thank you for reading and I would much appreciate any and all feedback,
Juris

Welcome to the craft and welcome to the site. This question almost exactly has been answered really frequently in this forum and it will help you lots to just scan down the postings below and see wot has already been given as advice for wot you are trying to do. And really forge welding is not a starting place. Fire management comes way ahead of that. Does your farrier friend forge weld? if so have him take a look at your set up and give thoughts. Learn basics and ask more questions on here as you go...have fun