I Forge Iron

Hamburger Flipper

Hello everyone,

I want to make a burger flipper for an uncle who loves to grill. I’m stuck on how to attach the spatulas to the handle. Requirements for the flipper: Must have a 2-foot long handle, Has to be of the double-spatula type (kinda like THIS ), Must be food-safe

The plan is to buy a sheet of 316 stainless and cut the spatulas out, then attach them (somehow) onto a 4-foot long piece of steel (probably SS) bent into a U. I could probably just cut it out of a single piece of stainless, but that would leave a lot of unused material. I’d like to put wooden scales on each side of the U as handles, but I’m not confident I wouldn’t mess it up, so I’m leaning towards just wrapping them in paracord, rawhide or something similar.

Now for the questions:

1) Which thickness of SS steel should I get, for both the spatula and the handle? I have no experience working with it, so I don’t know what would be good for flipping burgers and a bit of abuse.

2) How do I attach the spatula to the handle? I’m horrible at riveting nicely, and I can’t weld stainless.

Thanks!
T.

Hello everyone,

I want to make a burger flipper for an uncle who loves to grill. I’m stuck on how to attach the spatulas to the handle. Requirements for the flipper: Must have a 2-foot long handle, Has to be of the double-spatula type (kinda like THIS ), Must be food-safe

The plan is to buy a sheet of 316 stainless and cut the spatulas out, then attach them (somehow) onto a 4-foot long piece of steel (probably SS) bent into a U. I could probably just cut it out of a single piece of stainless, but that would leave a lot of unused material. I’d like to put wooden scales on each side of the U as handles, but I’m not confident I wouldn’t mess it up, so I’m leaning towards just wrapping them in paracord, rawhide or something similar.

Now for the questions: