I Forge Iron

Price in the Southeast

Just wondering what a 226 lb Peter Wright is worth in the South East US. I told the guy I would give him fair market value for it. He does not want to price it but, wants to sell it. Not as if I need a anvil. I have two now and was wanting one over 200 lbs is all. He claims it's in very good shape with very little dings in it. I'd have to look at it to see for sure. Just wondering what a good starting price is. I don't want to beat him nor do I want to get beat.

Thanks

Scott

No pics to post as of yet.

In my opinion, and I am no expert, $3.00/# is top dollar just about anywhere.
If he wants to go to all the trouble of ebay and shipping etc., he could hold out for $600.+ but your posting didn't sound like he was trying to make a killing. Bottom line is that it is worth what you are willing to pay. What is it worth to you? That's what it is worth.

I love my 100# PW, but I would not pay that much for another larger one.

Hope this helps,
Bill

I like my 100 P W but would like to have a larger one. Should you decide to pass on this one I would appreciate the contact info so I can check it out.

I believe that 3.00 a lb is to high. 2.00 a lb is not unrealitic but if I were negotiating I would start at 1.25 to 1.50

- K - in Canton GA

At the risk of sounding like the grumpy old geezer that I am, here goes.

Anvils are not hamburger, you can't buy 10lbs of an anvil. The price per unit is $$$/anvil.

Anvils are like women or cars: the better the face, plus the better overall body condition, plus the better the family (brand), plus the lighter they are, plus the relative scarcity (real or imagined), plus the relative number of interested buyers, equals the higher the price. Subtract one or more factors and the price goes down.

Just like women and cars, the used price is still pennies on the dollar for what a new one will set you back. :blink: And like women, your peers will hate and envy you if you have more than one at a time.