I Forge Iron

Need Equipment and Plans for old-fashion smithy shop

Hi. I am a student at the Wildlands charter school in Wisonsin and I would like to build a fully functioning smithy area for historical demonstrations as well as to fabricate items in a historically correct way and I am in need of plans or designs for a forge, knowledge of how to work with the metal, as well as any pointers that anyone would be kind enough to give.

Hi. I am a student at the Wildlands charter school in Wisonsin and I would like to build a fully functioning smithy area for historical demonstrations as well as to fabricate items in a historically correct way and I am in need of plans or designs for a forge, knowledge of how to work with the metal, as well as any pointers that anyone would be kind enough to give.

There are a ton of books that cover this. The Complete Modern Blacksmith may be the best allaround beginers book. The Edge of The Anvil is also very good, as well as The Blacksmith's Craft. As far as I know, all three are in print and cover methodology as well as setup.

There are a ton of books that cover this. The Complete Modern Blacksmith may be the best allaround beginers book. The Edge of The Anvil is also very good, as well as The Blacksmith's Craft. As far as I know, all three are in print and cover methodology as well as setup.

Thanks. From what I have read on this site those books have been recomended a great many times. I feel a little idiotic for not realising that those books would be as helpful to me as they were to others.

Thanks. From what I have read on this site those books have been recomended a great many times. I feel a little idiotic for not realising that those books would be as helpful to me as they were to others.

Hey, forget about it. ;)

There's no such thing as a stupid question.

Not asking the question ... now that's stupid :)

Besides, sometimes even the obvious answers get overlooked.

Happy reading - they really are great books.