I Forge Iron

your shop rules for safety and success

divermike

I was responding to another thread, and thought gee, this is a good subject to bring to this forum. We all develop our habits and rules, based on what works in our shops. I know as a hobbyist, my rules are far different in all likelyhood, than a pro, yet I have established a couple of rules that keep me from bein a hazard to myself, and also which makes me a much better smith.
I will post them below, and would ask that you all post yours, or agree, or disagree with mine!
Nelson Forge Rules
1. Never be in a hurry!
2. Quit when you get tired.

divermike, I just got done teaching 11 boy scouts the metalworking merit badge with the blacksmithing option. Alot of fun I may add. besides the normal safety rules:
safety glasses,hearing protection, protective clothes etc the one that helped the most for the boys was I told them to treat everything in the shop as hot to burn until proven different and be awhere of those around you when moving from forge to anvil. We spent 12hrs working on the merit badge four 3 hrs sessions. They all left with no burns or injurys.

Have two work tables, one by the forge where everything is considered hot, and one table away from the forge where everything is not hot. You MUST pick up anything from the forge Hot table and put it in water then into your BARE hand. The BARE hand is the only way to move it to the non-hot table.

Hot steel no longer in use goes to a special location to cool.

*STOP* before you make that uncorrectable mistake; better to have to come back and finish a project than to ruin it in the "last heat".

If you are cutting on a hardy make sure it's oriented so that any offcut won't fly off and disappear somewhere it will be a fire hazard.

For me,
Aside from the usual safety procedures I have two areas of concern.
I know, that in my shop, I am most likely to get burned by handling a hot drift or when adjusting tongs.