I Forge Iron

Complete Beginner

I suggest doing a search of your area for a local chapter of your state blacksmith organization. Attend as much as possible, in about a year, you will be well on your way, the groups are without a doubt, one of the best learning formats you could ever ask for, and I have never met a blacksmith I didn't like.

Yeah, join a local organization or a nationwide one. Find a good smith, make friends with them and mooch off them for all the info you can get! I learn best by seeing somebody demonstrate it. Books are full of good intellectual knowledge, but forging is something you have to do to learn. It is a physical "feel" thing.

"If you are starting with no tools or equipment, what are the basic tools you need to obtain to start learning this skill?"

I'd recommend finding an old antque anvil or even a little farriers anvil (does not matter what kind of shape it is in to start off as long as its it cheap), a cross pein hammer(any blacksmith or machinist hammer will do) and some type of home made or store bought forge (old antique "farm" forges with crank blowers can be had on ebay pretty cheap). You will probably need a few tongs to start or a good set of "vice grip pliers" to hold stock. If you are lucky enough to get a anvil chisel or "hardy" with your anvil you can use this to cut stock or you can get a good old hacksaw. Take trip to the scrap yard and get some mild steel scrap or if you can afford it get some new bar stock (probably mostly small stuff to start out) - some 1/4" round stock, some 3/8" round or 3/8" square or even 5/16' square and start making little S-hooks or "J-hooks" simply taking stock from square to round(re-sizing). There are sources for instruciton on how to forge these all over the internet. Try to make them all uniform - this will teach you more hammer control than any book will. Thats my advice.

Edited by Reid Neilsen