I Forge Iron

wood block when welding? and other weird ideas

I'm not new to making metal stuff, been heating and beating iron as a hobby for over 30 years, 98% self taught... some from books some from watching others, most from trial and error (lots of errors)

Anyway, been seeing a few you tube vijeo's of folks lately forge welding but starting the intitial welds by tapping with a wooden block on the anvil, and I simply do not understand why?
Is this one of them weird grampa tales such as never quenching in anything but oil (I've never quenched in oil) or heat cycling steel (this is how you bleed carbon out of high carbon steel) or the old standby that wrought iron is "stronger" because its grains have been "hammered" tighter. or is a whole bunch of this all for show? 

Now I do remember a time when at least local knife makers straight refused to teach anybody their methods... (hence why I'm 98% self taught) So i'm just curious where the xxxx some of these idears come from. 

Edited by Mod30
Language

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.

If you add your general location to your profile we can often give better answers and there is a chance of visits for in person consultations.  This is a world wide forum and we don't know if you are in northern logging country in Maine, USA, Lapland, or Queensland, Australia.

If you are talking about putting a block of wood under the welding heat metal it may be to cut down on deformation because things are pretty oft at welding heat and it is easy squash things.  

There are lots of old blacksmith stories that are tradition that take on almost religious fervor of what is "right" or "wrong" such as tapping the anvil between blows.

One of my favorites is that a number of times I have been told at demos that the metal will reheat faster if I quench it between heats.  Not in the physics of this universe.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

I have not seen the wood block thing yet.